In 1899 a committee was formed for the purpose of building a convent for the Sisters of Mercy who would teach the students in the proposed new Catholic school. On the 19th August 1901 the school was opened with an enrolment of 101 students. Families in the Beaudesert district have continued to send their children to St. Mary’s for over 110 years and there are children who are currently in the school who are great grand children of some who were here in those early years. Many generations have come to school at St. Mary’s. There are still some of the original school buildings on site. Over the years there have been many renovations to the school with major building projects in 1939, 1958, 1967 and from 1997 where an ongoing building program now sees St. Mary’s almost at the end of endeavours to building facilities for a 3-stream school.
The school itself is situated in the centre of Beaudesert where it is highly visible from the town and enjoys great open spaces. The aesthetics of the buildings reflect a heritage nature and we hope to salvage the façade of the 1939 built building for the rebuild because it is iconic to the school. As a school icon, the front entry of this building is incorporated into the school badge with the motto “BELONG, GROW, SERVE IN CHRIST” included. It is from this motto that we base our school vision and mission.
The future for St. Mary’s looks bright as the area in and around Beaudesert is showing signs of growth. It is anticipated that the school will be fully 3 stream before the end of the decade as the employment prospects in the area improve with some major business investments.
Given the anticipated growth and the need to rebuild, we look forward with excitement to the future of St. Mary’s School.